VCE / VCAL / VET Explained

VCE (Victorian Certificate of Education)

This qualification, pursued by the majority of students in Years 11 and 12, is undertaken over a minimum of two years.

A VCE student will usually undertake 22 units comprising of:

  • At least FOUR units from the English Group, including Unit 1 English
  • and at least 8 units at Units 3 & 4 level

A VCE student must satisfactorily complete at least 16 units including:

  • At least THREE units from the English Group
  • At least THREE unit 3 / 4 sequences other than English

VCAL (Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning)

A hands-on vocational focus option that can either be completed in one or two years, with Year 11 students undertaking Foundation or Intermediate Certificates and Year 12 students undertaking the Senior Certificate.

VCAL is NOT a “soft option”, nor is it “easier” than VCE. In many ways, VCAL places higher demands on the organisational, self management and planning skills of students than VCE.

A VCAL student completes compulsory units in:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Work Related
  • Personal Development
  • As well as a Vocational Education and Training (VET) subject and a VCE subject.

VET (Vocational Education and Training) Certificates

A VET subject has a vocational focus, providing students with a national or Victorian qualification in a variety of industry areas. Students wishing to study a VET subject must have a vocational pathway and be prepared to undertake work placement or structured workplace. A VET subject can be completed as part of either a VCAL or VCE program, with some VET programs providing a study score.